Its 3am at night. I'm watching TV and wondering why I am so fat and how I am going to get through another day exhausted. Things at home from the new year have been hell, they are better now. Why does my work want me to pick up and move to another state? The bad times coincide with me giving up footy and diet coke.
The Diet Coke obsession got the point I was drinking over 24 cans a day. They were free at work and we always had tons at home. So I stopped it cold turkey, this time I didn't give up caffeine too, that was hell the last time. What replaced football and Diet Coke? Massive bags of chips. One of my issues is I can eat, I can really eat - at an Olympic level and that usually what I go to when things are tough or bad.
Between the home, work, footy and Diet Coke I managed to eat myself through enough food to put on 50 pounds. I was already heave so that's left me weighing half a pound shy of 330 pounds. That's why I'm up at 3:30 am. I wear a CPAP at night so I don't die or get heart decease, I have high blood pressure and just generally in a funk. The CPAP isn't working right and its taking forever for the medical end of my life to get it together.
Then there is the stress of flying. Will I get thrown off as I hear about, will the buckle fit? Well on my last flight it didn't. I'm not bothered about the extender but I was bothered about having to ask, that stressed me out even more.
What am I going to do about it? Well I'm going to start a blog, start exercising and generally feel better. I have a fitbit, its a gimmick but I like gimmicks to see how I'm doing. I have set myself 20 pound goals. Every time I hit one I get a gift. My first gift will be a Polar M400 or a Garmin 310xt. The final goal - 210 pounds will be an Omega watch. Right now its a seamaster but that might change. The blog is just a written way for me to answer to myself and as I did in my Ironman when I'm successful turn it into a book.
I haven't been 210 (15 stone) Since I was 19 years old so although people are crying your still overweight there we can talk about that when I hit 15 stone.
I have ran 2 Ironman events and that hasn't helped me lose weight so by the end of this Id like to crush a 1 mile run to under 10 minutes, In fact Id like to run with a stride again instead of shuffling out 12 minute miles. It would be nice to talk to people about Ironman and not feel like a hypocrite as I am so heavy too.
So hear goes, wish me well and lets hope I can get it together.
No comments:
Post a Comment